Fordham Law

Fordham Moot Court Announces Season's Successes

March 15, 2006

Fordham Moot Court teams have earned honors at various competitions in the ongoing competition season.

Fordham Law students claimed Best Brief, Best Speaker, and Finalist prizes at the regional round of the Jessup International Law Moot Court competition.  Blanka Lewkowicz '07 earned the Best Speaker prize.  The team earning Best Brief consisted of Lewkowicz, Brian Schmidt '07, Sogol Somekh '07, and Lauren Plackter '07, who also received honors as Fifth Best Speaker.  The brief will be eligible for an international brief prize, which will be awarded in April at the Jessup competition’s international rounds.

Fordham’s team was named as National Finalists at the Cardozo/BMI Entertainment Law Competition.  The team, consisting of Deana Kim El-Mallwany '07, Joshua Sprague '07, and Gabrielle Vazquez '07, also earned the award for Runner-Up Best Brief in the Country.

Fordham also earned a quarterfinalist nod at February’s Spong Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition at William and Mary Law School.

Fordham Law School has a strong tradition of excellent Moot Court teams and is one of only 12 schools nationwide to win the National Moot Court competition more than once.