Fordham Law

Fordham Education Law Professor Honored with Prestigious Fellowship

May 31, 2006

Dr. Aaron Saiger, Associate Professor of Law at Fordham University, has been awarded a prestigious National Academy of Education/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellow by the National Academy of Education, an honorary education society, for 2006-2007.

Professor Saiger is one of only 20 U.S. researchers to receive this year's award from more then two hundred applicants. The fellowship program seeks to enhance the future of education research by developing new talent in the many disciplines and fields represented by the selected scholars.

Prof. Saiger has been an associate professor at Fordham Law since 2003 and teaches courses in Administrative Law, Property Law, and Education Law. Saiger earned his Ph.D. at Princeton's Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs and his law degree from Columbia Law School.  He has also previously served as a Law Clerk to U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice Ruth Bader Ginsberg and as a consultant for the Rand Corporation's Criminal Justice Program and Drug Policy Research Center.

Saiger's research involves school governance, how school district boundaries should be determined and who makes these boundary decisions. 

"This Fellowship is one of the most prestigious awards for the study of education," Matthew Diller, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, said. "Saiger’s knowledge of social science policy, combined with his legal skills, gives him a unique vantage point to look at education."

The Fellowship promotes scholarship in the United States and abroad on matters relevant to the improvement of education in all its forms. The Spencer Foundation, which funds the fellowships, devotes its resources to support the behavioral sciences as they apply to education. 

The postdoctoral fellowship was established in 1986 by the National Academy of Education with a grant from the Spencer Foundation.  Today the Academy has funded more than 500 fellows that aim to make significant scholarly contributions to the field of education. Fellowships are administered by the National Academy of Education and funded by a grant to the Academy from the Spencer Foundation.