Fordham Law

Student Bar Association Teacher of the Year, Keefe Awards Awarded

May 21, 2007

The Student Bar Association has announced the recipients of its annual Eugene J. Keefe and Teacher of the Year Awards. The awards were presented at the Law School's 100th Diploma Ceremony on May 20.

The Keefe Award was presented to the Feerick Center for Social Justice and Dispute Resolution. The Award is given each year to the person or group who has made the most important contribution to the Fordham community. The Feerick Center launched in September 2006. Outgoing Student Bar Association President Sean Harrigan said the Center was chosen for its commitment to social justice.

"The Center has provided an important resource to disenfranchised people by helping them gain access to previously unavailable justice," he said. "The Feerick Center will have a continuing impact on the lives of many New Yorkers and on the unique education that Fordham provides."

The Teacher of the Year Award was presented to Professor Linda Sugin. Sugin, who specializes in income Taxation, Nonprofit Organizations, and Tax Policy. The SBA selected Sugin for her "dedication to her students."

"She expects a lot from her students and does so because she truly wants each to have benefited from enrolling in her class," Harrigan said.

Contact: Jennifer Spencer, 212.636.7604