Fordham Law

Fordham Law Graduate Earns National IP Law Award

August 07, 2007

Fordham Law Alumnus Britton "Brit" Payne '07 was named the 2007 winner of the national ABA-AIPLA's Jan Jancin Award. Each year, this recognition is given to one third year law student who excels in the area of intellectual property law. Payne was selected from a pool of nominees from law schools across the country.

"The Jancin Award recognizes students who have demonstrated the highest level of excellence in intellectual property law courses and activities over his or her law school career," said Hugh Hansen, Fordham Law Professor and Director of the Fordham Intellectual Property Law Institute. "By winning, Brit has been recognized as the best of the best."

Payne's accomplishments include serving as editor in chief of the Fordham Intellectual Property, Media & Entertainment Law Journal and secretary of the Entertainment Law Studies Association. One of his papers on copyright law was recognized with a Second Place Nathan Burkan Memorial Prize through the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers, and he graduated with the Thomas F. Reddy, Jr. Prize for earning the highest grades in intellectual property courses.

Payne will be presented with his award, which includes a $5,000 cash prize, at the upcoming ABA-IPLE Meeting in San Francisco, CA. He will begin working as a Copyright Litigation Associate at Darby & Darby P.C. this September.

For more information on the Jan Jancin Award, visit:

Contact: Jennifer Spencer, 212.636.7604