Fordham Law

Law Professors, Administrators, Staff to be Honored at University Convocation

January 10, 2012

Six members of the Fordham Law community will be honored at the annual Fordham University Convocation on Sunday, March 4, in McGinley Ballroom at the Rose Hill campus.

Awards to be bestowed include the Bene Merenti Medal, the Archbishop Hughes Medal, and the Sursum Corda Award. The Bene Merenti Medal honors faculty members who have been with the University for 20 or 40 years. Professor Tracy Higgins and Associate Dean Ian Weinstein will receive the Bene Merenti Medal for 20 years of service. Dean Michael M. Martin and Professor Donald Sharpe will receive the medal for 40 years of service.

The Archbishop Hughes Medal recognizes longtime members of the administrative staff. Assistant Dean Kenneth Pokrowski will receive the Archbishop Hughes Medal.

The Sursum Corda Award is the University’s newest honor, established in 2005 by Joseph M. McShane, S.J., president of Fordham, and is bestowed upon members of the staff who have made outstanding contributions to the life and mission of the University. Susan Santangelo will receive the Sursum Corda Award.

"Susan plays a key role in nurturing community at the Law School," said Dean Michael M. Martin. "For 40 years, Susan has been known as the person to see in order to get things done, and she does every task with a warm and capable touch. Susan has played a significant part in helping to define the Law School and make it what it is today."