John D. Feerick '61 to Receive ABA Award

June 23, 2011

John D. Feerick '61, professor and former dean of Fordham Law School, has been named the 2011 recipient of the American Bar Association's Robert J. Kutak Award. The Kutak Award is given annually to honor an individual who has made significant contributions to the collaboration of the academy, the bench, and the bar.

"John is one of Fordham Law's great treasures," said Michael M. Martin, Dean of Fordham Law. "In every one of his many distinguished roles throughout his career—as a lawyer, arbitrator, professor, dean, director, mentor—he has practiced law in the service of others. The entire Fordham Law community is grateful for all his contributions to the Law School, and we are proud that the ABA has decided to honor his many achievements with the Kutak Award."

Feerick was chosen for his lifelong enthusiastic service to the bar, the judiciary, and legal education. During his distinguished legal career, Feerick has served as an advisor to the ABA Commission on Electoral College Reform, a member of the ABA Special Constitutional Convention Committee, and president of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York. His service as a member of the ABA Conference on Presidential Inability and Succession in 1964 led to his participation in the drafting of the 25th Amendment to the Constitution. Feerick also served the New York City Bar as a member or chair of a number of its committees, including the Special Committee on the New York Constitutional Convention of 1967, and was the founding chair of the New York County Lawyers’ Association Justice Center.

From 1982–2002, Feerick led Fordham Law as Dean. He founded the School's Feerick Center for Social Justice and currently serves as its Director. He has held the Sidney C. Norris Chair of Law in Public Service since 2004 and was the Leonard F. Manning Professor of Law from 2002–2004.

The Kutak Award is named for a founding partner of the national law firm of Kutak Rock LLP who dedicated his career to public service and the improvement of legal education and the legal profession. The Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar and Kutak Rock established the award in 1984.

Feerick will receive the award on August 5 at a reception in Toronto.

Visit the ABA website for more information.