Two New Faculty Chairs Appointed

May 25, 2010

Two Fordham Law professors have been appointed to new faculty chairs. Joel Reidenberg is the inaugural holder of the of the Stanley D. Waxberg and Nikki Waxberg Chair in recognition of his exceptional record of teaching, service, and scholarly achievement. Bruce Green has been named the inaugural holder of the Louis Stein Chair in recognition of his extraordinary stature at the Law School, in academia, and in the legal profession. Fordham Law Professor Joel Reidenberg

Reidenberg is the founding Director of the Law School's Center on Law and Information Policy (CLIP) and has served as Director of the Graduate Program, Chair of the International Program and Curriculum Committee, and Director of Studies for the LL.M. in IP and Information Technology Law. He has also held numerous administrative leadership positions for Fordham University. In April, Reidenberg testified before Congress during a hearing on schoolchildren's educational records and data privacy; his testimony drew largely from CLIP's influential October 2008 report on the topic.

"As an internationally recognized expert who helped establish the field of Information Law and Policy, Joel is superbly qualified to serve as the first occupant of the Waxberg Chair," said Dean William Michael Treanor. "Joel's innumerable contributions to our School and the University have helped make Fordham a top place of study for IP and Information Law and for International Law."

The Law School's Louis Stein Professorship has been made into a chair because of a partial match of fundraising by Fordham University. Green, who was formerly Fordham Law Professor Bruce GreenLouis Stein Professor, will now hold the Louis Stein Chair.

"Bruce is among our country's foremost scholars of legal ethics," said Dean William Michael Treanor. "His service establishing and directing the Louis Stein Center for Law and Ethics has made Fordham Law a leader in promoting the integration of ethics perspectives in legal practice, legal institutions, and the development of the law."

Green's service to the legal profession extends to leadership roles with the American Bar Association, New York State Bar Association, and New York County Lawyers Association. It also includes serving as Chair of the NYSBA Committee on Professional Ethics, which issues opinions interpreting the New York Code of Professional Responsibility. In addition, Green has served as a member of the MPRE Drafting Committee for the National Conference of Bar Examiners, the NYC Conflicts of Interest Board, and the Departmental Disciplinary Committee of the New York State Supreme Court, Appellate Division, First Department.

The Waxberg Chair is named for Stanley D. Waxberg '35, a distinguished Fordham Law graduate who became a Senior Partner at Kay, Scholer, Fierman, Hayes, and Handler. The Stein Chair is named for Louis Stein '26, who founded the Law School's Stein Institute of Law and Ethics (now the Stein Center) in 1976.