Fordham Law

Fordham Law Receives Award for Commitment to Diversity

April 14, 2009

The Association of Judges of Hispanic Heritage (AJHH) presented the Honorable Frank Torres Award for Commitment to Diversity to Fordham Law School at its Hispanic Heritage Awards Dinner on Monday, April 13. The award recognizes the school for "continuing efforts to recruit and education Latino law students" and for "its service to others."

Dean William Michael Treanor accepted the award on behalf of the law school and spoke at the event, which was co-hosted by Fordham Law and its Latin American Law Students Association. The event was held at Fordham's Lincoln Center campus.

Hon. Jonathan Lippman, Chief Judge of New York State, was the featured guest speaker.

The AJHH honored three individuals at the event.

The Honorable Charles J. Tejada, founding member and former president of AJHH, was posthumously recognized with the Honorable John Carro Award for Judicial Excellence. Judge Tejada passed away in December 2008, and the award was accepted by his wife, Dr. Jeanette Tejada, and his son, John, and daughter, Christine.

The Honorable Peter Rivera of the New York State Assembly received the Honorable Frank Torres Award for Commitment to Diversity.

The Honorable Carmen Beauchamp Ciparick, Associate Judge of the New York State Court of Appeals, received the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award.

Contact: Carrie Johnson