Fordham Law

Fordham Law to Host Hispanic Heritage Awards Dinner

March 10, 2009

Prominent members of New York's Hispanic legal community will meet at Fordham Law School when the Association of Judges of Hispanic Heritage Inc. holds its annual awards dinner on April 13. The Honorable Joseph Capella, president of the Association, will give remarks and the Honorable Jonathan Lippman, Chief Judge of the State of New York, will be guest speaker.

Awards will be presented for achievement in and commitment to the law. The Honorable John Carro Award for Judicial Excellence will be presented posthumously to the Honorable Charles J. Tejada, former acting New York Supreme Court justice. This award is given to a member of the judiciary who manifests a comprehensive understanding of the substantive aspects of law and demonstrates a commitment to the preservation of human rights. The award is named to honor Appellate Division Justice John Carro, a founding member of the Association of Judges of Hispanic Heritage, who throughout his career in public service and on the bench displayed wisdom and courage in striving to achieve justice for all.

The Honorable Frank Torres Award for Commitment to Diversity will be presented to the Honorable Peter M. Rivera, New York state assemblyman. This award is given to individuals or organizations that exhibit a commitment to diversity. The award is named in honor of Judge Frank Torres, a founding member of the Association of Judges of Hispanic Heritage and retired New York Supreme Court Judge. Throughout his career as an attorney, mentor, teacher, legislator and jurist, Judge Torres advanced the cause of civil rights and promoted a more demographically representative society.

The inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to the Honorable Carmen Beauchamp Ciparick. Judge Ciparick is a senior associate judge on the New York State Court of Appeals.

Contact: Stephen Eichinger