Fordham Law

Brendan Moore Trial Advocacy Team Wins National Competition

October 26, 2009

Fordham Law students Jonathan Macri ’10, Bernard Ozarowski '10, Katherine Donoghue ’10, and Ilana Turko ’10 claimed the championship at the Lone Star Classic National Mock Trial Tournament in San Antonio. Macri also won Best Summation. The team was coached by Adjunct Professor of Trial Advocacy Greg SanGermano '02.

“Fordham Law’s Moore Advocates continue to demonstrate excellence in competition,” said James L. Kainen, Brendan Moore Professor of Advocacy and Director of Fordham's Trial Advocacy Competition Program. “Coming after our historic win earlier this year at Stanford Law’s mock trial competition, this second championship affirms the talent and dedication of our team as well as the generosity of alum Tom Moore and Judy Livingston.”

Moore '72 and his wife, Livingston, are the founders and benefactors of the Brendan Moore Trial Advocacy Center, which is headed by Associate Professor James Cohen.

In a second national competition held in East Lansing, Brendan Moore Advocates Justina Lopez ’10, Caitlin Naun ’10, Ashley Garman ’10, and Deborah Wassel ’10 reached the semifinals. The National Trial Advocacy Competition hosted 26 teams. Individual honors were awarded to Wassel for Best Summation and Lopez for Best Cross Examination. The team was coached by Jonathan Uretsky ’99 and Dan Geoghan ’99.

"The Moore Advocates have had a truly amazing year," said Dean William Michael Treanor. "A championship at Stanford, a championship in Texas, and many individual championship awards to members of the team—these are incredible achievements. Congratulations to every one of the Moore Advocates and my sincerest thanks to Professor Jim Kainen for his guidance and to alum Tom Moore for his continued support and generosity."

The Lone Star Classic was hosted by St. Mary’s Law School at the Bexar County Courthouse, with the final rounds being held at St. Mary's Law School. The National Trial Advocacy Competition was sponsored by Michigan State University Law School.
 l-r: Dean William Michael Treanor, Jonathan Uretsky '99, Jonathan Macri '10, Bernard Ozarowski '10, Justina Lopez '10, Katherine Donoghue '10, Caitlin Naun '10, Greg SanGermano '02, Deborah Wassel '10, Professor James Kainen, Ilana Turko '10, and Professor Paul Radvany.


Contact: Stephen Eichinger