Fordham-Stein Prize

First awarded in 1976, the Fordham-Stein Prize is presented annually to a member of the legal profession whose work embodies the highest standards of the legal profession. 

Prize recipients:
- exemplify outstanding professional conduct
- promote the advancement of justice
- bring credit to the profession by emphasizing in the public mind the contributions of lawyers to our society and to our democratic system of government

From its inception, the winners of the Prize have been men and women with distinguished careers who reflect a profound commitment to the public good. Past winners include:
- two Chief Justices of the United States
- five Associate Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States
- three former United States Attorneys General
- three former Secretaries of State
- leaders of the bench and bar

The Fordham-Stein Prize Prize is a public service program of the Stein Center for Law and Ethics at Fordham Law. It is formally presented every autumn.