Fordham Law

Former Dean John D. Feerick '61 to Receive Dispute Resolution Award

January 27, 2011

John Feerick '61 has been selected by the American Bar Association Section of Dispute Resolution to receive its prestigious D’Alemberte-Raven Award. The award recognizes leaders in the dispute resolution community who have contributed significantly to the field by developing new or innovative programs, improvements in service and efficiency, research and writings in the area of dispute resolution or continuing education programs.

"I am truly honored to have been chosen for this award," said Feerick. "I am grateful to my colleagues at the Law School's Feerick Center for Social Justice for all their support, and all the others at the School with whom I have been associated, especially Professor Jacqueline Nolan-Haley. I thank the ABA for their continued efforts to promote mediation and dispute resolution in the legal profession."

Feerick has had a long career as a mediator and mediation advocate. He is nationally known as a brilliant, honest, and perceptive person able to achieve consensus in mediations and in many areas of social justice. He has served in many public service positions during his career, including Chair of the New York State Commission to Promote Public Confidence in Judicial Elections, Chair of the New York State Commission on Government Integrity, and member of the New York State Salary Commission and the New York State Commission to Promote Public Confidence and Trust in the Legal System.

"I can think of no one more deserving of this award than John," said Mike M. Martin, Interim Dean and Distinguished Professor of Law. "He has been a pioneer and a leader in all forms of alternative dispute resolution, and the legal profession is richer because of him. We at the Law School congratulate John for this notable honor, and, as always, are very proud to call him an integral member of the Fordham Law family."

Feerick has served as a mediator, arbitrator, and special master on numerous commercial, employment and sports disputes. He served as Dean of Fordham Law for 20 years and practiced law at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom from 1961-1982.

In congratulating Feerick, Section Chair Wayne Thorpe, said “I am thrilled both for Dean Feerick—and for the Section—that our committee has chosen him to receive this important award. Dean Feerick has made countless significant contributions to the ADR field as a lawyer, neutral, scholar and long-time dean of a prestigious law school, and he is a recognized 'giant' in the field. John provided critical leadership for the ADR community, as chair of the committee that produced the 1994 Model Standards of Conduct for Mediators, which has become one of the 'original scriptures' for our field."

Feerick will receive the award at the Section's Annual Spring Conference in April. The award is named for Robert D. Raven of San Francisco and Talbot D'Alemberte of Tallahassee, former ABA presidents and pioneers within the ABA in the area of dispute resolution.