Fordham Law

Collective Successes, Individual Achievements Recognized at Annual Awards Dinner

May 26, 2004

New York, NY – The Fordham School of Law Dispute Resolution Society celebrated its most recent accomplishments at a year-end Awards Dinner held April 21, 2004.

Outgoing Dispute Resolution Society Chair Cora MacLean began the evening with a recap of significant events. Society members represented Fordham in five competitions, both within the United States and abroad. In so doing, the program maintained its reputation for interschool competition excellence, advancing to the National Rounds of the ABA “Negotiation Competition” and the ABA “Representation in Mediation Competition.” Competitors earned Semifinalist honors in Fordham’s inaugural appearance at the University of Richmond’s “Robert R. Merhige National Environmental Negotiation Competition.” A strong showing at the “Willem C. Vis International Arbitration Competition” in Vienna, Austria added a decidedly continental dimension to the Society. The effort also made school history, as it marked the first European appearance for any Fordham Law squad.

The evening signaled the official changing of the guard. The 2004-2005 Dispute Resolution Society Executive Board includes Sheila Fitzpatrick (Chair); Christopher Ayala (Managing Editor); Sarah Hagans (Senior Competition Editor); Anthony Minko (Publications and Community Outreach Editor); Clare Cusack (ABA “Representation in Mediation Competition” Editor); Trudy Fenster (ABA “Negotiation Competition” Editor); Elsie Echevarria (“Willem C. Vis International Arbitration Competition” Editor); and John “Jed” Freedlander (“Robert R. Merhige National Environmental Negotiation Competition” Editor).

Sejal Shah (’03) received the 2003-2004 “Chair’s Award” in recognition of her stalwart commitment to promulgating alternative dispute resolution (“ADR”) in the New York City public school system. Shah’s vision became known as Students Teaching Effective Problem Solving in Mediation (“STEPS”) and has been lauded by educators throughout the past two years.

Professor David M. White (’02) received the “Distinguished Alumnus Award” for his continued mentoring efforts. White was named to the Fordham Adjunct Faculty in Spring 2004 and teaches a seminar entitled “Dispute Resolution Perspectives.” The offering is unique among ABA-accredited law schools and affords interschool competitors and their coaches the opportunity to hone problem-solving skills through experiential role-plays.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the “John D. Feerick Award.” The honor is annually bestowed by the Dispute Resolution Society Alumni Association upon the student who has shown uncommon devotion and unwavering commitment to the Society. The recognition is the only Fordham award named for the school’s much-revered former dean. A leading ADR scholar, Dean Feerick’s service continues both in the classroom and around the nation through various public policy initiatives. The Selection Committee chose Cora MacLean as the 2003-2004 recipient.

# # # #

Fordham School of Law is a leader among alternative dispute resolution (“ADR”) centers of legal scholarship. Founded in 2001, the Fordham Dispute Resolution Society seeks to promote greater understanding of conflict management. Under the direction of Faculty Advisor Professor Jacqueline M. Nolan-Haley, the Society advances community-based dispute settlement and sponsors workshops, guest lectures and panel discussions. Students are afforded opportunities to hone problem-solving skills through interschool competition within the United States and abroad.