2013-2014 Teams & Competitions

ABA Negotiation

Alex Bein
Nicholas Brockmeier
Jim Burbage
Elizabeth Dietz
Benjamin Kram
Carly Landon
Alif Mia
Melissa Pender
Tracy Solomon
Dennis Vorontsov

In the ABA Negotiation Competition, teams of two students act as lawyers negotiating on behalf of their clients. Fordham is one of the most highly decorated schools in the nation in negotiation and has secured its place as one of the preeminent institutions for the practical application of negotiation theory. Fordham has won the Regional Negotiation Championship six times in the past ten years. In 2003, the Society won the National Competition. This fall the Society placed third in the Regional competition, and all three of its negotiation teams placed in the top ten. Fordham regularly advances teams to the Regional finals.

ABA Mediation

Ariel Choi
Naseem Faqhini
Gregory Harvey
Michael Huggins
Devon Lash
Robert Susi
Peter Tyson
Erica Valencia-Graham
Nick Veliky

In the ABA Representation in Mediation Competition, students act as both lawyers and clients. The lawyer-client teams work toward settlement with the aid of a neutral mediator. Fordham has a long history of success in mediation, including a national championship title. Fordham has swept the regional competition for four of the past six years.

International Law School Mediation Tournament

Matt Aibel
Joseph Amoia
Christopher Bosch
Sydney Fetten
Priya Ghodasara
Boris Kessler
Kelsey Lam
Stephanie Ray
Steven Shuldman

In the Spring of 2014, Fordham will be competing in the InterNational Academy of Dispute Resolution mediation competition in Chicago, IL. The competition is designed to test meditation skills with teams participating in mediator, advocate, and client roles. This competition includes teams from the United States, Great Britain, Canada, and Germany. This year, the team placed 2nd for the team mediator award and 7th for the team advocate/client award.

ICC International Commercial Mediation

Georgia Barker
Jeffrey Beer, Jr.
Taylor Hahn
Nicole Lipsky

Held in Paris at the International Chamber of Commerce, the ICC Mediation Competition gives competitors an opportunity to test their problem-solving skills in a moot international business mediation. Competitors must apply ICC's ADR Rules to solve problems devised by a special drafting committee of international mediation experts. This competition is unique in that only certain distinguished schools are invited to compete. The Society was invited to the ICC's inaugural competition in 2006. Having consistently placed among the top teams, the Society has earned a strong reputation with the judges and an invitation in each successive year. In 2011, Fordham's team succesfully navigated through 58 teams from 27 countries to win the Sixth Annual ICC Mediation Competition.

Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration

Robert Cohen
Elizabeth David
Marc Epstein
John Foley
Benjamin Moskowitz
Kathleen Negri
Nicholas Santangelo
Tori Searl
Anna Svensson
Maria Teresa Vanikiotis

In the Vis International Commercial Arbitration competition, students practice oral advocacy and brief writing skills most similar to those used in litigation. Advocates in arbitration present their arguments to an arbitral panel, and the proceedings are analogous to an informal mini-trial. Competitors study international contract law and the international conventions governing arbitration of disputes. After receiving the problem in the fall, the team produces briefs for both claimant and respondent. Members develop and hone their oral advocacy skills throughout the year in preparation for the oral argument portion of the competition in the Spring in Vienna and Hong Kong. Over 200 law schools from around the world compete. In the past few years, Fordham has achieved remarkable success. The 2008 Hong Kong team advanced to the semifinals, receiving three Best Oral Advocate honorable mentions and an honorable mention for Best Claimant's Brief. The 2008 Vienna team advanced to the elimination rounds and ranked 27th out of 204 teams, receiving two Best Oral Advocate honorable mentions. The 2009 Hong Kong team won a Best Respondent’s Brief honorable mention. The 2009 Vienna team advanced to the elimination rounds and won a Best Oral Advocate honorable mention among roughly 30 out of nearly 1000 eligible competitors. For the past two years, five competitors have received oralist awards in both the Vis East and Vis West competitions.

1L Team

Julien Barbey
Alissa Curran
Connor Carroll
Caitlin Fahey
Felicia Siegel
Nicholas Sorrentino
Cora Walker