Fordham Law School banner photo


Individually-Hosted Off-Campus Employer Receptions

Each year many employers choose to host their own individual receptions at area restaurants off campus.  The CPC does recommend employers first participate in one of the CPC-Hosted Employer Receptions as a means of generally introducing their organizations to our student body.

CPC Calendar of Possible Dates: The CPC has set up a calendar of potential dates over a period of 10 weeks for off-campus events/receptions to avoid possible conflicts and to maximize student attendance at these events.  On any of these dates, an event may be scheduled for lunchtime or for the evening; therefore, there are actually two reception “time slots” available on each listed date (except as specifically noted in the list of dates below).

Off-Campus Reception Times:Please note that at Fordham Law School there are no classes scheduled on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 12:30 pm to 1:50 pm, or on Wednesdays from 4:30 pm to 6:20 pm (commonly referred to as “open window periods”), except Tuesday, February 18, which will follow a Monday schedule of classes. (Note that not all students have classes at other times, and so scheduling of employer events has never been limited to those “open window” periods -- but scheduling an event during an "open window" period minimizes the chance that class conflicts will make it impossible for students to attend an event.) In addition, given that there are only three “open window” periods per week, it is common for other school organizations  and departments to schedule programs/events during these “open window” periods.

LOTTERY: The CPC will conduct a lottery of interested employers to determine which employers will host off-campus events on each of the available dates.

The specific available dates and times during the Spring 2014 semester are as follows:

Thursday, January 16 (evening only)
Friday, January 17 (lunch and evening)
Tuesday, January 21 (evening only)
Wednesday, January 22 (lunch and evening)
Thursday, January 23 (evening only)
Friday, January 24 (lunch and evening)
Monday, January 27 (lunch and evening)
Tuesday, January 28 (evening only)
Wednesday, January 29 (lunch and evening)
Thursday, January 30 (evening only)
Friday, January 31 (lunch and evening)
Monday, February 3 (lunch and evening)
Tuesday, February 4 (evening only)
Wednesday, February 5 (lunch and evening)
Thursday, February 6 (evening only)
Friday, February 7 (evening only)
Monday, February 10 (lunch and evening)
Tuesday, February 11 (evening only)
Wednesday, February 12 (lunch only)
Thursday, February 13 (evening only)
Friday, February 14 (lunch and evening)
Tuesday, February 18 (evening only)
Wednesday, February 19 (lunch only)
Thursday, February 27 (lunch and evening)
Friday, February 28 (lunch and evening)
Monday, March 3 (lunch and evening)
Tuesday, March 4 (lunch and evening)
Wednesday, March 5 (lunch and evening)
Thursday, March 6 (lunch and evening)
Friday, March 7 (lunch and evening)
Monday, March 10 (lunch and evening)
Tuesday, March 11 (lunch and evening)
Wednesday, March 12 (lunch and evening)

Deadline to enter lottery: Employers interested in participating in this lottery should send an email to the Career Planning Center (careers@law.fordham.edu) by 1:00 pm on Wednesday, December 4, 2013, indicating their choices of reception dates from among those on the provided list.

In order to avoid possible conflicts, we ask that each employer provide as many choices as possible, with a minimum of five choices ranked in order of preference, and indicate for each date whether a lunchtime reception or an evening reception is desired (depending, of course, on the availability of time slots on the chosen dates as set forth in the table above.

All employers will receive an email by 5:00 pm on Monday, December 9, 2013, informing them which reception date and slot they were assigned.

MARKETING YOUR EVENT:There are two methods available for marketing your event to students:

  • Post your Program/Reception under the Events Tab in Symplicity.  Students are accustomed to using Symplicity as a resource for all aspects of their job-search needs, including employer events. Moreover, Symplicity facilitates the management and organization of events, as it can be set up to allow students to RSVP online; employers can then log into Symplicity and see a continuously updated list of the students who have indicated their intention to attend.  Symplicity also makes it possible for the employer to email the students who have responded and to download an Excel spreadsheet that lists all students who have responded. 
    • We recommend that you post your event in Symplicity no later than Monday, January 6, 2014 so that it receives the greatest possible attention from the students.  (We have noticed in past years that events that are not posted until later in the semester can be overlooked by students.) Please contact the CPC if you have any questions about how to post your event in Symplicity.
  • Send the CPC a Poster describing your eventto be displayed on the CPC bulletin board; we will display the Poster on our bulletin board one week prior to your event.
  • Invite students via emailby requesting a copy of the opt-in mailing lists available for each class. (Additional information about these lists is available here.)

VENUES: The CPC has identified off-campus establishments in the vicinity of the Fordham Law School campus that may be good venues for employers wishing to host an individual reception.

Sample FLS Area Restaurants [PDF]