Fordham Law School banner photo


Individually-Hosted Off-Campus Employer Receptions

Each year many employers choose to host their own individual receptions at area restaurants off campus.  The CPC does recommend employers first participate in one of the CPC Hosted Employer Receptions (as described above in item 1) as a means of generally introducing their organizations to our student body.

CPC Calendar of Possible Dates: The CPC has set up a calendar of potential dates over a period of 9 weeks for off-campus events/receptions to avoid possible conflicts and to maximize student attendance at these events.  On certain dates, there are two time slots available (lunchtime and evening); on other dates, only one time slot is available. Details for each date are listed in the table below.

Off-Campus Reception Times: Please note that at Fordham Law School there are no classes scheduled on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 12:30 pm to 1:50 pm, or on Wednesdays from 4:30 pm to 6:20 pm (commonly referred to as “open window periods”), except Tuesday, February 17, which will follow a Monday schedule of classes. (Note that not all students have classes at other times, and so scheduling of employer events has never been limited to those “open window” periods -- but scheduling an event during an “open window” period minimizes the chance that class conflicts will make it impossible for students to attend an event.) In addition, given that there are only three “open window” periods per week, it is common for other school organizations  and departments to schedule programs/events during these “open window” periods.

LOTTERY:  The CPC will conduct a lottery of interested employers to determine which employers will host off-campus events on each of the available dates. Employers interested in participating in this lottery should send an email to the Career Planning Center at careers@law.fordham.edu by 1:00 pm on Wednesday, December 3, 2014, indicating their choices of reception dates from among those on the list below.

The specific available dates and times during the Spring 2015 semester are as follows:

Thursday, January 15, 2015 (evening)
Friday, January 16, 2015 (lunchtime)
Friday, January 16, 2015 (evening)
Tuesday, January 20, 2015 (evening)
Wednesday, January 21, 2015 (lunchtime)
Wednesday, January 21, 2015 (evening)
Thursday, January 22, 2015 (evening)
Friday, January 23, 2015 (lunchtime)
Friday, January 23, 2015 (evening)
Monday, January 26, 2015 (lunchtime)
Monday, January 26, 2015 (evening)
Tuesday, January 27, 2015 (evening)
Wednesday, January 28, 2015 (lunchtime)
Wednesday, January 28, 2015 (evening)
Thursday, January 29, 2015 (lunchtime)
Thursday, January 29, 2015 (evening)
Friday, January 30, 2015 (lunchtime)
Friday, January 30, 2015 (evening)
Monday, February 2, 2015 (lunchtime)
Monday, February 2, 2015 (evening)
Tuesday, February 3, 2015 (lunchtime)
Tuesday, February 3, 2015 (evening)
Monday, February 9, 2015 (lunchtime)
Monday, February 9, 2015 (evening)
Tuesday, February 10, 2015 (evening)
Wednesday, February 11, 2015 (lunchtime)
Wednesday, February 11, 2015 (evening)
Thursday, February 12, 2015 (lunchtime)
Thursday, February 12, 2015 (evening)
Tuesday, February 17, 2015 (lunchtime)
Tuesday, February 17, 2015 (evening)
Wednesday, February 18, 2015 (lunchtime)
Wednesday, February 18, 2015 (evening)
Wednesday, February 25, 2015 (lunchtime)
Wednesday, February 25, 2015 (evening)
Thursday, February 26, 2015 (lunchtime)
Thursday, February 26, 2015 (evening)
Friday, February 27, 2015 (lunchtime)
Friday, February 27, 2015 (evening)
Monday, March 2, 2015 (lunchtime)
Monday, March 2, 2015 (evening)
Tuesday, March 3, 2015 (lunchtime)
Tuesday, March 3, 2015 (evening)
Wednesday, March 4, 2015 (lunchtime)
Wednesday, March 4, 2015 (evening)
Thursday, March 5, 2015 (lunchtime)
Thursday, March 5, 2015 (evening)
Friday, March 6, 2015 (lunchtime)
Friday, March 6, 2015 (evening)
Monday, March 9, 2015 (lunchtime)
Monday, March 9, 2015 (evening)
Tuesday, March 10, 2015 (lunchtime)
Tuesday, March 10, 2015 (evening)
Wednesday, March 11, 2015 (lunchtime)
Wednesday, March 11, 2015 (evening)
Thursday, March 12, 2015 (lunchtime)
Thursday, March 12, 2015 (evening)
Friday, March 13, 2015 (lunchtime)
Friday, March 13, 2015 (evening)

In order to avoid possible conflicts, we ask that each employer provide as many choices as possible, with a minimum of five choices ranked in order of preference, and indicate for each date whether a lunchtime reception or an evening reception is desired (depending, of course, on the availability of time slots on the chosen dates as set forth in the list above).

All employers will receive an email by 5:00 pm on Monday, December 8, 2014, informing them which reception date and slot they were assigned.

MARKETING YOUR OFF-CAMPUS EVENT: There are two methods available for marketing your event to students:

  • Post your Program/Reception under the Events Tab in Symplicity.  Students are accustomed to using Symplicity as a resource for all aspects of their job-search needs, including employer events. Moreover, Symplicity facilitates the management and organization of events, as it can be set up to allow students to RSVP online; employers can then log into Symplicity and see a continuously updated list of the students who have indicated their intention to attend. 
  • Symplicity also makes it possible for the employer to email the students who have responded and to download an Excel spreadsheet that lists all students who have responded.
  • We recommend that you post your event in Symplicity no later than Monday, January 5, 2015 so that it receives the greatest possible attention from the students.  (We have noticed in past years that events that are not posted until later in the semester can be overlooked by students.)  Please contact the CPC if you have any questions about how to post your event in Symplicity 
  • Send the CPC a Poster describing your event to be displayed on the CPC bulletin board; we will display the Poster on our bulletin board one week prior to your event.
  • Invite students via email by requesting a copy of the opt-in mailing lists available for each class. (See Section 9 below for additional information about these mailing lists.)


VENUES: The CPC has identified off-campus establishments in the vicinity of the Fordham Law School campus that may be good venues for employers wishing to host an individual reception; a list of those establishments and their respective contact information is available via the link below.

Sample FLS Area Restaurants [PDF]