Fordham Law

Moore Advocates Excel in Fall Semester Competitions

November 21, 2011

Fordham Law's Brendan Moore Trial Advocates won a number of awards during competitions held during the fall semester.

In October, team members Charles Atkinson '12, Christian Levis '12, Kristen McIntosh '12, and Madeline Stokes '12 won the national Lone Star Classic Trial Advocacy Competition in San Antonio. Levis also won the Best Advocate award. The team was coached by alumni Andrew Mercer '09 and Bernard Ozarowski '10. This victory marks the second time in three years that the Moores have won the competition; Ozarowski was among the team members who won the tournament the first time in 2009. View video from the 2011 competition.    

Left to right: Professor James Kainen, Charles Atkinson '12, Madeline Stokes '12, Christian Levis '12, and Dean Michael M. Martin. (Not pictured: Kristen Mcintosh '12, Andrew Mercer '09, and Bernard Ozarowski '10)
Moore Advocates Jerry Dickinson '13, David Mou '13, Brittany Russell '13, and Konstantin Yelisavetsky '13 finished first among fifteen teams to win the ABA Section of Labor and Employment Law's Regional Trial Competition in November. In January, the team will compete in the national tournament in Miami. Coaches for the team were alumni Stacey Cheser '05 and Jeff Colt '10. The other Fordham team in the labor competition, Cristin Boyle '13, Benjamin Goldberg '13, Rishi Gupta '13, and Tim Savitsky '13, advanced to the semifinals. They were coached by alumni Krystyn Tendy '09 and John Beatty '06.
Left to right: Jerry Dickinson '13, David Mou '13, U.S. Magistrate Judge for the Southern District of New York Andrew J. Peck, Brittany Russell '13, and Konstatin Yelisavetsky '13

Also in November, the Moore Advocacy team consisting of Graham Amodeo '13, Kevin Ramnarain '13, Anne Reilly '13, and Tanya Rolo '13 advanced to the finals, finishing second among thirty schools in the Buffalo Niagara Trial Competition in November. The team was coached by alumni Adam Shlahet '02 and Kate Donoghue '10.

Left to right: Professor James Kainen, Graham Amadeo '13, Adam Shlahet '02, Anne Reilly '13, Tanya Rolo '13, Kevin Ramnarain '13, and Dean Michael M. Martin (Not pictured: Kate Donoghue '10)
Team members Adam Brody '12, Rachel Kierych '12, Matt Sheehan '12, and Matt Stein '12—coached by alumni Greg SanGermano '02 and Ilana Turko '10—advanced to the finals of Georgetown’s National White Collar Crime Mock Trial Invitational. They finished second among 20 teams. Sheehan also won an Exceptional Advocate award.

In St. Johns’ Peter James Johnson '49 National Civil Rights Trial Competition, team members Lili Corn '12, Stephanie Fakih '12, Meghan Hill '12, and Jere Keys '12 advanced to the quarterfinals. They were coached by alumni Deb Wassell '10 and Ashley Garman '10.

In the Moore Advocacy team's first appearance in the National Pretrial Competition, Jenna Felz '12 received a Best Advocate Award for the highest score among all advocates during the competition’s third round.