Fordham Law

Fordham Law Holds 103rd Diploma Ceremony

May 25, 2010

Fordham Law School held its 103rd graduation ceremony on Monday, May 24 at the Theater at Madison Square Garden. Fordham Law Dean William Michael Treanor and Fordham University President Joseph McShane, S.J., conferred the J.D. degree on 495 graduates and the LL.M. degree on 162. Class members performed over 134,000 hours of public interest work, and a record 37% of the class gave more than $10,000 for the School's Annual Fund, the largest Class Gift in the history of the Law School.
Dean Treanor addresses the graduates. Student Bar Association President Mary
Whelan '10, Dean Treanor, and James Jalil.

Alumnus John K. Mara '79, President and CEO of the New York Giants, and Robert M. Morgenthau, former Manhattan District Attorney, received honorary Doctor of Laws degrees.

John K. Mara '79 Robert M. Morgenthau

At the ceremony, awards were also given to faculty and graduates for service and achievement. The Eugene J. Keefe Award, given to the person who has made the most important contribution to the Fordham Law community, was presented to James Leitner '82. The Teacher of the Year Award was presented to Richard Squire, Associate Professor of Law, and the Adjunct Teacher of the Year Award was given to James P. Jalil. The Dean’s Medal of Recognition was awarded to Professor Daniel J. Capra, Philip D. Reed Chair, and Michael M. Martin, Fordham University Distinguished Professor of Law.
James Leitner '82 Richard Squire
Daniel J. Capra Michael M. Martin

Contact: Stephen Eichinger